Movember – Nearly Over

Mo Picture 28th Nov

Here we are, the 28th November and in little more than two days the Mo can go!

Especially over the last week I’ve felt this strange admiration for the men who choose to sport a Mo all the time. Mine has been irritating, itchy and just generally makes my face feel wrong. As in past years I’ve got to confess that come 1st December, I won’t miss it.

But, come 1st November next year I’ll almost certainly do it all again. I’ve not seen figures for this year, but last year over 700,000 people worldwide participated and raised over $100 million. In addition to all the money raised, it’s increased discussion in the world about men’s health and particularly about the need to listen to our bodies, read the signs and act in a responsible way when something’s not right.

For those interested, here are details of where the money goes – where it gets spent and how it’s contributing to improved health for men:
Movember – Report Cards

Here are some pretty startling statistics:

1. 1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer in his lifetime.
2. Over 238,000 new cases of the disease will be diagnosed and almost 30,000 men will die of prostate cancer in per annum.
3. Testicular cancer is the most common cancer in males between the ages of 15 and 35.
4. Men who sit more than six hours a day have an 18 percent increased risk of dying from heart disease and a 7.8 percent increased chance of dying from diabetes compared with someone who sits for three hours or less a day.
5. Globally, 5.3 million deaths will be attributed to physical inactivity.
6. 24% of men are less likely to go to the doctor compared to women.

It’s not too late to show your support and to back my stunning cowboy style Mo that I’ve nurtured so lovingly over the last 28 days.

Please support by using this link and pledging however much you can: My MoBro Profile and Donation Page

Thank you.

2 Responses

  1. I really admire how you are supporting this good cause sir ….. how I wish I could donate even a small amount….. my father in law is suffering/battling  from prostate cancer …. God bless you sir! Elena

    • Elena, I completely understand that you can’t support financially. But, I assure you I appreciate the moral support.

Leave a Reply

