R.I.P Zig Ziglar

In the earliest days of my professional life there were four people whose writings and talks inspired me more than any others, whose philosophies contributed to my aspirations for the kind of professional person I wanted to be. They were;

Tom Peters (and Waterman)
Brian Tracey
Anthony Robbins
Zig Ziglar

Sadly, the last of the four, Zig Ziglar passed away earlier today after a brief illness and pneumonia at the age of 86.

Here’s a very fitting obituary from Seth Godin: Seth Godin’s Appreciation of Zig Ziglar

I know that when I was involved in work that involved selling, Zig’s influence made a far better salesman of me than I might otherwise have been (in the best interests of me and the people I sold to as his methods were highly ethical.)

Thank you, Sir for those early inspirations.

4 Responses

  1. Would it be nice if you could also point to some of his best writings/articles/blogs/books that influenced you the most ?

    • For me, i guess it was his books and tapes (yes, old fashioned cassettes!) on Sales that influenced me the most, though some of them might be considered a bit dated these days.
      Two quotes sum up Zig’s influence for me:
      “You can have everything in life you want, if you will just help other people get what they want.”
      “Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude

      • I can feel your loss. People that inspire you and touch your life stay with you forever. I have since reading your article, heard Zig Ziglar on u tube and inspiring he sure is! My 12 year old has just gone to identify his immediate goal and list how he wil go about achieving it and what hampers his progress.
        There! You are continuing in your own way what Zig Ziglar did for millions-so a big thank you for sharing your experiences in this lovely space you generously share with us!

      • Guneet, thank you for the heart-warming feedback. over the last 3 1/2 years I’ve come to love writing this blog. As i said in conversation with an 11 year old boy yesterday, writing down our thoughts and ideas has a communication impact that can be out of all proportion to the effort the writing takes in terms of impact, influence and creation of new ideas through sharing. That to me is a big buzz.

Leave a Reply

