Love The Work You Do

Here’s an inspiring short piece from Dan Pink about the difference that attitude makes to the work we do;

Dan Pink – On Mastery

Some of the responses from readers at the bottom of the page are fairly predictable. I would personally disagree with those who have suggested that some jobs just have to be done for the money. When I was growing up and working my way through college I did some jobs that were really tough, that sometimes had unpleasant aspects to them. However, I believe that I always made the effort to find something meaningful in what I was being asked to do, some reason beyond the money that made me want to do that work well and to the best of my ability.

With mundane and repetitive tasks I would set times, try to beat my record etc. In short, I would do whatever it took to have a reason to do what I was doing and to do it well. Have you ever taken pride in a spotless, shining urinal? I have! And, I’m not ashamed or embarrassed to say so. When I struggled to find enough reason in a specific job, then I’d figure whether it was time to go and find some different work. What I never believed I had the right to do was to stay in that job, carp and complain about it, grumble and gripe about why I hated it, put in as little effort as possible, skive off and shirk the duties. It saddens me when I see so many people doing that, believing that the responsibility to create motivation in their work lies with their boss, their colleagues – in short, everyone but them!

I will always believe that one of the strongest determinants of long term success for anyone is their ability to love the work they do.

3 Responses

  1. Mr. Mark ,

    You have spoken my thoughts. Well , sometimes I do get looking out for answers . But , I am sure , its an artiste’s hand and very personal thinking that nothing is for money . I believe , questions of survival , start with questions but end with beautiful verses. I love anything , if I can do it honestly .

    Three cheers for speaking for my Mind !

  2. I couldn’t agree more with what you have said, Mark. I believe if one has a positive attitude to work, no work is boring. I also believe that whatever we do is rewarded, even if the reward is not immediate and/or tangible. One of my favourite poems is: Say not the Struggle Naught availeth by Arthur Hugh Clough.
    Happy working, happy growing–personally and professionally,
    Dharmendra.

  3. Totally Agree with you Mark..One of my Fav poets , Khalil Gibran said, ” Wok is love made visible”

Leave a Reply

