Summer Reading List (Part 1)

A little while ago I committed to write a short summary of my summer reading. I had a really fun summer, so I’m sharing the list in two halves (to avoid having people believe that ALL I did was read!). Some of these were read in places like beside a pool! This is just the non-fiction. I didn’t keep track of the novels I read as well;

  1. Accelerated Learning, Colin Rose
    It must have been about 2 years since I last read this book – way too long. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read it. This relatively small book was one of the biggest influences for me leaving banking and moving in to the education field. There is so much in this book that is inspiring and thought-provoking for educators. For those who want to help students to build metacognition (thinking about thinking)(, to understand how their mind works and how learning happens, there is lots of material here.
  2. NLP Workbook, Joseph O’Connor
    One of the best general introductions to NLP (Neuro Linguistic Programing) supplemented with lots of exercises and practical applications to build the skills and habits of applying NLP techniques. For me, a good refresher before getting in to reading some more advanced material, as it’s a few years since I underwent NLP training.
  3. NLP: Sleight of Mouth, Robert Dilts
    One of those more advanced books on NLP. In depth analysis of language patterns, the Milton Model (named after Milton Erikson) and programmed language methods to shift thinking patterns. Dilts was one of the people training in the very early days of NLP by Bandler and Grinder and has produced some of the most innovative work on applications.
  4. Visionary Leadership Skills, Robert Dilts
    In this book Dilts uses NLP principles and practices to analyse the evidence of what made some of the world’s greatest leader figures great, through their actions, recorded words and writing.
  5. The Insubordinate, Seth Godin
    A short e-book published by Godin as an extension of his book “Linchpin”, it focuses on some examples of people operating and succeeding according to the Linchpin principles.
  6. Imagine, Jonah Lehrer
    See earlier blog post specifically on this book.

  7. Flow
  8. Finding Flow, both by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
    I was reading Flow for the second time, Finding Flow for the first. Both are fascinating and well written books about how to ‘get in the groove’ so that tasks don’t feel like tasks and we get more done of what we need to do to achieve our goals and aspirations.
    These prompted a conversation I had recently with a couple of students about how to create meaning and purpose in mundane tasks. I talked about how when I had menial manual jobs as a youngster I would set myself targets related to how quickly I might complete a task, how accurately, estimating various aspects and then seeing how close I could get to those estimates. As I did this I found time on task flew by, I avoided boredom, got the job done and felt satisfaction afterwards.

Part 2 of the reading list will follow soon.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you very much for posting this list. I will be ordering one of the books tomorrow.

    Interestingly a few hours back I was browsing through a Teachers TV video on how a KS 2 teacher has integrated extra curricular reading within her classroom (and so creating a thirst- a passion within her class for reading).That is where it begins!

  2. Its’ so precious , the Information . And of course , it invokes respect for your effort and meticulous way of leading , Mr. Mark.

Leave a Reply

