Jonah Lehrer on Creativity

Summer break is over, so it will be a while before I get the time to lounge by the pool again. However, this year my pool-side lounging was extra special as it was accompanied by reading one of the most stimulating and enjoyable books I’ve come across in a long time: “Imagine: How Creativity Works” by Jonah Lehrer:

Imagine – Book Review

Lehrer’s writing style is really entertaining, as well as highly thought-provoking. With good reason, the book left me with many questions, thoughts and reflections on how our education system might support the development of creativity schools to a greater extent.

By way of a flavour of Lehrer’s writing, here are 3 enjoyable articles that touch on elements in the book:

The first from Wired, looks at what data and evidence says should be important in pre-school learning and what happens when it comes in to conflict with ambitious parents:

Wired Article on Play

The second is a fascinating exploration in to the life of a person with Asperger’s Syndrome. In this case, Clay Marzo, one of the world’s greatest surfers:

Outside Online Article – Clay Marzo

The third and final piece looks at some amazingly creative work in the field of sports medicine that has already been attracting the attention of some of the world’s top athletes:

Grantland Article – Kobe Bryant

I thoroughly recommend the book, even if you have to read it during monsoon showers (we can hope!) instead of by a pool.

4 Responses

  1. Perfect. Your recos have proved very useful in the past. Order a copy just now.

    Thanks.

  2. Mr. Parkinson…..I’ve never really had the opportunity to thank you..and when I’ve had the opportunity I’ve shied away from it…Besides I express myself better in writing. Your blog has not only helped me save many hours and led me directly to sites and books/articles/research papers but has also helped me in widening my horizon and intensified my quest for knowledge on topics/issues that are very close to my heart.
    I am going to order the above mentioned books and enjoy spending many moments of blissful enlightenment…..Thank You ever so much and I always look forward to your next post……

    • Hi Annie,
      Sorry I didn’t get a chance to respond sooner. Thank you so much for your comment – a reminder for me of why I have been writing the blog now for over 3 years.
      There’s also a selfish purpose in that it’s a great way for me to work through my own beliefs, ideas and perceptions – that hopefully enable me to aspire to be a better educator each day.
      I’m hoping over the next few days to put together my full summer reading list with a brief write-up on each. When that’s done I’ll share it here.
      I believe firmly that there’s a fundamental element in being an educator that is about sharing ideas, knowledge and skills. I believe when we share we all benefit, but especially young learners, tomorrow’s citizens of the world benefit.

  3. Assimilated the Articles as Bone & Marrow. So, factual.

Leave a Reply

