What’s Wrong With ‘The Simpsons’

My mother and Step-father live on the edge of a sleepy little village in Somerset, England. That village was propelled in to world news this week by an education controversy. A parent got a bee in his bonnet about the school using such contemporary material as ‘The Simpsons’ cartoons for teaching.

BBC Article on lessons in The Simpsons

I have to say that being a long time fan of The Simpsons , I think he’s lost the plot. I understand the way he gathered his petition signatures was to set up a table outside the village supermarket. I’m sure he’ll have found plenty of retired ‘gentlemen’ of the “A good dose of Chaucer and 6 of the best never did me any harm” variety.

I’m really interested to know what experimentation otrher teachers have done with contemporary materials, what worked, what didn’t and the different reactions of students and parents.

Leave a Reply

