Measuring the Quality of a Life

Once in a while you come across an article that leaves you saying, “I wish I’d written that”. Clayton Christensen is a Harvard professor whose books I have enjoyed and particularly I believe, “Disrupting Class” provides great insights in to where our thinking needs to be in the next q10 years for schools and education – especially secondary education.

So, when I came across this link to an article that Christensen wrote for the Harvard Business Review I was intrigued. However, the article was far more profound than I had expected. It outlines work he did with his students at Harvard where he shared his economic theories as applied to the living of one’s personal life.

Clearly, some of Christensen’s thinking has its origins in his strong Christian background. However, the lessons he brings out are profound and the examples very thought-provoking – for example, that Jeff Skilling was a ‘good guy’ at college!

I did find myself making strong comparisons with Steven Covey’s 7 habits of Highly Effective People (Habit 1 – Be Proactive, Habit 2 – Begin with the End in Mind, Habit 3 – Put First Things First and Habit 7 – Sharpen the Saw).

Harvard Business Review – Clayton Christensen
(click on the link to read)

One Response

  1. I dont wish I had written that. I am glad Prof. Christensen wrote it. Because it validates my life, especially the last decade or so of it.

    “Don’t worry about the level of individual prominence you have achieved; worry about the individuals you have helped become better people”.

    This so echoes what I have believed in and try to adhere to but had felt hesitant to vocalize for fear of being called by the “individually prominent” as an also ran who dropped out of the race mid-way for something as mundane as child-rearing.

    I had long since realized that I am an enabler, a mid-fielder who makes the play so the forwards may score. Now I am glad for the affirmation. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

